moonmagnet.blogg.se

Spark email client for mac
Spark email client for mac











spark email client for mac

We might use that email address to reach out to you periodically”) (“The first email you add to Spark is used as your username. automatically creates an account with the first address entered, and subscribes you to their newsletter.(“We use third party services, such as Google Analytics, Facebook Analytics and Amplitude, to collect and analyze how you use Spark.”) sends statistical data to several services known for bad privacy policies (Google, Facebook) to which there’s no way to opt out.For hundreds of millions of Gmail users it’s acceptable (assuming they even realize it’s happening) but I don’t like it, and I don’t particularly have confidence in Readdle’s ability to have sufficient security to protect my mail coursing through their servers. But allowing mail providers to scan and harvest info from my email is just not acceptable to me. Spark and Edison claim they de-identify and aggregate your email data, but I still find it unacceptable, which is why I use my me.com or my Gsuite (which unlike Gmail doesn’t track and use data from emails) for my purchase receipts, and why I don’t sync my contacts with facebook, gmail or Yahoomail,ĭifferent people have differing comfort levels for how much of their lives they’re willing to open up in exchange for services. Edison even has the following scary commerce page in which they crow about being able scrape emails to offer travel booking behavior, info on items sold by companies and their final prices, what groceries, stores, brands are involved, and “research with deep geographic resolution and compete at a granular level”Īpple doesn’t do any of that (although if you’re using another email provider, like Gmail, Google has that info already). Here’s what I’ve noted: apps like Edison and Spark and Newton Mail scrape your info, try to de-identify and anonymize it, then resell the metadata. We’ve discussed this a few times before here.













Spark email client for mac